Hey, we have forums!

Author Topic: Native - mod  (Read 58716 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Hiro

  • Hero Bit
  • *********
  • Posts: 674
  • Kriel's Legionary
    • View Profile
    • The Rat Hole
Re: Copy of Native - mod
« Reply #30 on: January 06, 2009, 12:57:34 am »
Hmm, actually you probably could... But really I'm thinking of this as more of a developer's tool rather than a mod someone would actually want to play (I mean, they can just go play the main game xD).
My site is: http://www.therathole.co.nr/
Where I put pictures and blog posts and stuff..

Offline Chibi

  • Dream Bit
  • **********
  • Posts: 1443
  • Deus Ex Aquaria
    • View Profile
    • Prize Rebel ($50 dollars earned in two months)
Re: Copy of Native - mod
« Reply #31 on: January 06, 2009, 01:11:37 am »
Yeah - you get to play the main game exactly how it is in the real game! Without a map!  ::)

Life is a sexually transmitted disease with a 100% mortality rate. [Click the signature for +1 health!]

Offline Hiro

  • Hero Bit
  • *********
  • Posts: 674
  • Kriel's Legionary
    • View Profile
    • The Rat Hole
Re: Copy of Native - mod
« Reply #32 on: January 07, 2009, 11:48:31 am »
Hahah! Yeah. xD

Although actually, Edwards said he knows how to add his own songs to mods. Maybe he'd know how to make one that teleports you to a different map (ie. the index).
Hmm.. I can't find the files that tell the main game what each of the songs does so I wouldn't know how to do it. >.< All I can find are things relating to the 'slots' each song is in and stuff.
My site is: http://www.therathole.co.nr/
Where I put pictures and blog posts and stuff..

Offline Danger Mouse

  • Hero Bit
  • *********
  • Posts: 624
  • Shush.
    • View Profile
    • Danger Mouse
Re: Copy of Native - mod
« Reply #33 on: January 07, 2009, 04:25:37 pm »
We should get Edwards to create a new thread topic for just that Hiro. :) It would definitely come in handy for my mod when I get to that point.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2009, 10:52:43 pm by Danger Mouse »

Offline Edwards

  • Bit Bit
  • ****
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
Re: Copy of Native - mod
« Reply #34 on: January 07, 2009, 09:42:49 pm »
[EDIT] Adding this is a lot uglier than I expected, thanks to (a) songslots needing to be sequential, (b) a certain someone leaving the completely inappropriate line resetContinuity() in the script for the index node, and (c) the song I chose being too similar to the Energy Form song.  I've updated the instructions in this post, and you can download an archive of the files I've modified/added here.

Although actually, Edwards said he knows how to add his own songs to mods. Maybe he'd know how to make one that teleports you to a different map (ie. the index).
Hmm.. I can't find the files that tell the main game what each of the songs does so I wouldn't know how to do it. >.< All I can find are things relating to the 'slots' each song is in and stuff.
Wait- that information isn't well-known?  I could've sworn I found out how based on something here on the forums, although it might have been an off-hand comment by Alec.  Anywho, here's a quick bit of code for a song to send you to the index map- I've been using something similar in my own mod-in-progress, as it's a lot easier to just sing a few notes than to remember the names of all your maps.:

Place in a file "songs.xml" in the scripts folder:
<Song idx="100" name="Go to Map" slot="12" notes="7 4 6 5 3 " script="1" vox=""/>

Place in a file "songs.lua" in the scripts folder:
function castSong(songIdx)
   if songIdx == 100 then
      loadMap("index")
   end
end


Open up the script "node_index.lua" and comment out the line resetContinuity() near the beginning of the file (or possibly just add learnSong(100) after it).

And just to be thorough, add the following image ("songslot-12.png") to the graphics/song folder of the mod:


[EDIT] Forgot to mention that you'll also need to add the line learnSong(100) to mod-init.lua, and the notes you need to sing are:

Also, you'll lose the song if you ever visit the title screen map, due to its use of resetContinuity().

- Edwards
« Last Edit: January 08, 2009, 12:53:29 am by Edwards »
You should only need one canister shell to bag your deer using your howitzer, but assemble more than one if  you have a mind to.1

Offline Guy

  • Bit Bit
  • ****
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: Copy of Native - mod
« Reply #35 on: January 07, 2009, 10:17:32 pm »
Yeah, it's here. "castSong()" isn't used anywhere in Aquaria so you can't learn that way ::)
(grep is great for searching the data - you can find all sorts of interesting things like "WILBUR: Hi, I'm Wilbur the song stone. In lieu of actual planning, *I'll* just have to teach you the pull song myself!")

Offline Hiro

  • Hero Bit
  • *********
  • Posts: 674
  • Kriel's Legionary
    • View Profile
    • The Rat Hole
Re: Copy of Native - mod
« Reply #36 on: January 08, 2009, 11:54:53 pm »
Quote
Place in a file "songs.lua" in the scripts folder:
function castSong(songIdx)
   if songIdx == 100 then
      loadMap("index")
   end
end
Ahh. This is the bit I couldn't find out about. It not being used in Aquaria at all would be the reason. xD Hard coded stuff is hard to learn about. >.<;
Gah, all the new guys are so much better than me.  ::)
You, sirs, are epic win.

I guess I'll look at adding this to the download.  :)

[EDIT]
By the way, adding the learn song bit after the reset continuity bit means you can go to the index without losing the song.
I'm also finishing what I started with adding all the 'naijastart' nodes to the maps. It is sooo much easier with the index map song. :D
[EDIT2]
I just found a typo for the bubblecave02 node (aka the bubllecave02 node xD). Fixed now for the new version.  ;)
[EDIT3]
Ok, all the nodes done. I also added that graphic of the index map song to the index map so people know what it is without looking here.
Note: Mithalas03 isn't used in the game (it also links to Cathedral01 which isn't used in the game, and isn't even in the index xD)
Uploading now, new link should be up soon.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2009, 02:22:20 am by Hiro »
My site is: http://www.therathole.co.nr/
Where I put pictures and blog posts and stuff..

Offline Alec

  • Administrator
  • Dream Bit
  • **********
  • Posts: 2211
    • View Profile
Re: Copy of Native - mod
« Reply #37 on: January 09, 2009, 02:11:25 am »
(grep is great for searching the data - you can find all sorts of interesting things like "WILBUR: Hi, I'm Wilbur the song stone. In lieu of actual planning, *I'll* just have to teach you the pull song myself!")

Haha, I had totally forgotten about that one.

Offline Hiro

  • Hero Bit
  • *********
  • Posts: 674
  • Kriel's Legionary
    • View Profile
    • The Rat Hole
Re: Copy of Native - mod
« Reply #38 on: January 09, 2009, 02:24:30 am »
Haha. I wonder what other testing gems are still in the data files.  :D

Oh, and I forgot to mention before: the new mod is just called Native. None of that 'Copy of' business.  ;)
My site is: http://www.therathole.co.nr/
Where I put pictures and blog posts and stuff..

Offline Danger Mouse

  • Hero Bit
  • *********
  • Posts: 624
  • Shush.
    • View Profile
    • Danger Mouse
Re: Native - mod
« Reply #39 on: January 09, 2009, 05:08:28 am »
Could change it to Native Aquaria, and I'll give you the image I have already edited from your old one. :)

Offline Danger Mouse

  • Hero Bit
  • *********
  • Posts: 624
  • Shush.
    • View Profile
    • Danger Mouse
Re: Native - mod
« Reply #40 on: January 09, 2009, 05:17:32 am »

Click the image for the full sized version.

Offline Hiro

  • Hero Bit
  • *********
  • Posts: 674
  • Kriel's Legionary
    • View Profile
    • The Rat Hole
Re: Native - mod
« Reply #41 on: January 10, 2009, 04:48:05 am »
The resembalance to what the current icon is is striking. ;) Although the word native is a bit closer to the centre on mine.
Thanks for the though anyway though.
My site is: http://www.therathole.co.nr/
Where I put pictures and blog posts and stuff..

Offline Danger Mouse

  • Hero Bit
  • *********
  • Posts: 624
  • Shush.
    • View Profile
    • Danger Mouse
Re: Native - mod
« Reply #42 on: January 10, 2009, 04:54:42 am »
Sure, No problem.  :)

Offline prestart

  • Bit
  • ***
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Native - mod
« Reply #43 on: August 27, 2009, 06:16:52 am »
Oh, man......our great firewall of China block the box.net as well...Isn't there a download link from RapidShare?
e-mail to me ??    rawcliff@sina.com

Offline Hiro

  • Hero Bit
  • *********
  • Posts: 674
  • Kriel's Legionary
    • View Profile
    • The Rat Hole
Re: Native - mod
« Reply #44 on: August 27, 2009, 06:42:25 am »
Hmm, I don't have a rapidshare account but anyone who does who would like to host it for me would be great. I'll add it to the front post if someone supplies a link.  ;)
My site is: http://www.therathole.co.nr/
Where I put pictures and blog posts and stuff..